A Cup of Chamomile in a Coffee-Fueled Workplace

In the past week, I’ve found myself pulled into several directions at my day job. Working as a recreation aide, I wear multiple hats and find myself doing several activities back-to-back. Our instincts tell us that in hectic days, we need stimulants, such as caffeine and sugar to carry us through the day. But what happens when those stimulants fail to work, and our bodies are pushed to physical and mental exhaustion?

Yesterday, I decided to go against my usual instinct of guzzling coffee to carry me through. Instead, I brought with me to work the exact opposite of a stimulant: a natural sedative, chamomile. In the past, I had brought up how chamomile functions well against anxiety. Too much caffeine can trigger anxiety, so I had found myself in a position where I’d actually be able to feel the benefits of chamomile.

One cup during the early part of my shift, and I found myself evened out for the first stretch of the day. I expected to feel tired or sleepy, but instead, it actually helped clear out my thoughts for the tasks ahead. I didn’t sacrifice an energy boost to calm myself down; rather, I balanced myself out in order to use my energy in the right way.

Having a clear mind allowed me to finish my tasks without overexerting myself. Instead of attempting to multitask, I was able to focus on one task at a time without pushing myself too hard. Running events became a bit more bearable, and I had enough energy to exert a bit more here and there when needed.

What amazed me was that I actually didn’t miss having one or two cups of coffee during a shift. I found myself satiated with a cup of chamomile or even green tea, with water along the way as well. For the most part, I’d have a cup of coffee after work just for the taste of it.

Chamomile tea also helped me get in my mental zone for meditation as well. Calming my mind helped me focus on my breathing and channel out any distractions around me. As I have mentioned before, breathing and meditation are excellent ways of preventing burnout and refocusing. Using chamomile tea beforehand helped me physically calm my body and relax in order to breathe and meditate, which makes the transition into meditating go smoother. Combining the two elements works especially during a lunch break, where you’re bracing yourself for the second half of the day. Rather than fueling up with caffeine and sugar, which stimulates you but leaves you open for a “crash and burn” feeling at the end, you feel yourself cooled down in order to handle the incoming hectic nature of the second half of your work day. The feeling of focus and calm discipline helps carry me through that long stretch before I can finally clock out.

In fast-paced environments, it can be easy to fall into the trap of needing stimulants like coffee, sugar, and sweets to feel in control. I can’t count how many times I’ve seen co-workers sipping on Red Bull or Monster Energy drinks throughout the work day. While it may give them a temporary boost, it also spikes their blood pressure, which can lead to long-term damage to the cardiovascular system in the long run. No one should physically compromise themselves in the short term and risk long-term damage.

Using stimulants in a fast-paced environment can also lead to mental hurdles, such as fatigue and anxiety. Using a natural sedative, such as chamomile, can counter those hurdles, relaxing you enough to get your tasks done. Like I said, it may sound counter-productive, but think of it this way: when a machine is pushing its limits, the only way to preserve it is to slow down and cool it down. Chamomile is merely a way for you to keep yourself from burning out.

So if you’re in an environment where tensions are high, and you feel the need to churn out as much productivity as possible, it may do you some good to avoid the coffee and fix yourself a cup of chamomile tea. Your body will thank you for it.

Leave a comment