The First Step…

It’s been said that the hardest step is the first step. Every step after that becomes easier. In recent events, I’ve found that not only is the first step the hardest to take, but the most rewarding when it’s in the right direction.

I had formally resigned from my last job this past Valentine’s Day, working my last day after I handed in my two-week notice. The goodbyes were a lot harder than I had anticipated. They say that you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone, and I think that went both ways. In spite of all the stress, frustration, and the feeling of my life and career going nowhere, I had forged some strong bonds with the people I worked with daily. It was the familiarity and the small appreciations I realized I was going to miss. My career may have been at a stand-still while I was there, but they weren’t hesitant to tell me that their lives were a bit better because I was there. Talk about a hard first step.

Still, after my goodbyes, I had the advantage of taking my first step rather quickly, as the orientation to my new job was the next morning. I had only gotten 5 hours of sleep, but I was more eager than tired. The train ride on the Metro North to White Plains was so peaceful. I used to ride this train back when I was studying for my Associate Degree in the early 2000’s, but I had forgotten about how calm the morning train rides to White Plains were. Compared to the frustration of riding the Bx12 to my old job, this was a polar opposite. I even started reading on my tablet, a luxury I never had on any work commute before. I had arrived at my destination 10 minutes early, a comforting feeling, especially considering how certain old co-workers had doubted I’d be able to get to my new job on time with a longer commute.

The orientation pretty much affirmed what I had believed: I was finally in a position to build a new career in a less stressful environment. Everything about this new place was what I needed mentally and emotionally. Even as tired as I was, I was in no rush to leave; everything about this place was so welcoming and encouraging. This place was the epitome of a stress-free environment.

Last night, I had the best sleep I’ve had in the past 10 years. Not just because my body was catching up on the rest I had missed out on by getting up so early, but because for the first time, I had clocked in and out of a place that wasn’t so emotionally draining and demanding. If I had never taken that first step, I’d have missed out on so much in just the first day.

I’m sharing this not just as a personal reflection, but to show you how much small things such as a workday commute or your work environment can impact your overall wellness. So many employers equate productivity with work output, but so few employers realize that employee wellness is part of the productivity equation. So many people I’ve worked with and spoken with have shared with me their workplace frustrations, and so many of them work in medical fields and in social services, fields that are meant to better human lives. I hope that employers in these fields come to realize that treating their employees better will result in better overall outcomes.

And for the people who are in a postion of change such as I was, don’t be afraid to take that first step that will change your life. You might be missing out on the change that you need in your life if you hesitate. Take that first step.

Leave a comment